Kidus Giorgis Retain Ethiopian Premier League Title

The Horsemen have secured their third consecutive league title after overcoming relegation battlers Dashen Bira 2-1 in the round 24 of the topflight league.

Kidus Giorgis have now won 27 league titles, 13 of them coming after the Ethiopian Premier League restructured in 1998.

The table toppers only needed a point to be crowned champions while Dashen Bira were in pursuit of avoiding defeat as they push for safety. Salahdin Said gave Giorgis the lead in the 20th minute through a spectacular fashion before setting up Adane Girma to grab the second in the 64th minute. Togolese striker Edom Hosorovi halved the deficit to one 11 minutes from time. The win insured the Addis Ababa outfit the league triumph as Dashen further plunged to the relegation zone.

Elsewhere, Electric were held by the relegated Hadiya Hossana to a two all draw. Adnane Kassim handed Hossana the lead when he scored a free kick. Nigerian Peter Nwadke leveled matters before the interval. Hossana retook the lead through the former Hawassa Ketema and Adama Ketema player Temesgen GebreTasdik. Nonetheless, Fitsum Gebremarim rescued Electric as he netted ten minutes from time.

Tsegaye Abera and Tadele Mengesha were on target as ArbaMinch Ketema beat Hawassa Ketema 2-0. Late goals from Aklilu Walelegn and Amanuel Yohannis handed Ethiopia Bunna a 3-1 win over Diredawa Ketema behind closed doors in Abebe Bikila Memorial Stadium. Eko Favor scored for Bunna before Fikadu Tadesse restored parity. Aklilu and Amanuel scored deep into the stoppage time to give Bunna a crucial win.


Week 24 Results

Saturday, June 18

Adama Ketema 3-1 Wolaitta Dicha

(Tafesse Tesfaye 2x, Michael George / Alazar Fasika)

Sunday, June 19

Dedebit 0-1 Sidama Bunna

(Bereket Addisu)

Mekelakeya 1-1 Ethiopia Nigd Bank

(Samuel Taye / Dagnachew Bekele)

Monday, June 20

ArbaMinch Ketema 2-0 Hawassa Ketema

(Tsegaye Abera, Tadele Mengesha)

Electric 2-2 Hadiya Hossana

(Peter Nwadke, Fitsum Gebremariam / Adnane Kassim, Temesgen GebreTsadik)

Ethiopia Bunna 3-1 Diredawa Ketema

(Eko Favor, Aklilu Walelegn, Amanuel Yohannis / Fikadu Tadesse

Kidus Giorgis 2-1 Dashen Bira

(Salahdin Said, Adane Girma / Edom Hosorovi)

1 Comment

Leave a Reply