The curtains closed down on the 2015/16 Ethiopian Premier League Season

The curtains closed down on the 2015/16 season Ethiopian Premier League after two games were played in Addis Ababa. Kidus Giorgis were handed the trophy in front of their energetic fans as Dedebit trashed Hadiya Hossana 4-1 earlier in the day. Awards were also given at the closing ceremony.

Dedebit humiliated Hadiya Hossana 4-1 in the opening fixture. Nigerian Samuel Sanumi and Henok Esayas gave Dedebit two goals cushion before Dawit Fikadu extened the lead to three early in the second half.  Temesgen GebreTsadik pulled one back for Hossana when he lobbed the ball over the on rushing Dedebit goalie. Dawit grabbed a brace one minute before time to make it 4. Dawit finished the season with 14 goals, one goal shy of Tafese Tesfaye.

Champions Kidus Giorgis celebrated title win with a win over Hawassa Ketema. Two early strikes in the opening minutes of the second interval insured the Horsemen maximum points. Adane Girma opened the scoring in the 46th minute. Four minutes later Ramkel Lok rounded Hawassa custodian Yohannis Bezabeh to double the lead. Hawassa captain Mulugeta Mihret halved the deficit after successfully converting a spot kick in the 83th minute as he bids farewell to the Addis Ababa faithful.

Kidus Giorgis finished the season with 55 points, 10 points above runner-ups Ethiopia Bunna. Adama Ketema for the second season running finished in the top 3.

Kidus Giorgis’s Ugandan goalie Robert Odongkara took home the Goalkeeper of the season award for the fifth time in a row. Aschalew Tamene of Kidus Giorgis became the surprise MVP of the season while Tafese Tesfaye won the top goal scorer award after netting 15 goals in the campaign. International arbiter Belay Tadesse received accolade for being referee of the year. The Fair Play Award went to Mekelakeya.

Leave a Reply