Dedebit Crowned Champions of the Ethiopian Women’s Premier League

Dedebit have been crowned champions of the Ethiopian Women’s Premier League for the 2015/16 season after beating Ethiopia Nigd Bank 2-0 in the final of the playoffs in Hawassa.

Two goals from Loza Abera handed the Blue Armies the title after 3 years wait as Nigd Bank crumbled in their pursuit to win the league for the 4th time in a row.  Dedebit were reduced to 10 in the dying moments of the game when midfielder Alefiya Jarso shown a straight red card for unsupportive behavior.

Mekelakeya thumped Dashen Bira 3-0 to win the third place playoffs. Yemiserach Lakew put the Army side in front before Fikerete Birhanu grabbed a brace to seal the win.


Ethiopia Nigd Bank’s striker Shitaye Sisay took home the Most Valuable Player award. Meanwhile Loza won the top goal scorer award; Loza bagged 10 goals in the playoffs and 47 goals in the zonal competition. Aynalem Asamenew and Teramaj Tesfaye have received accolades for being top goal scorers in the South East Zone of the league. Veteran goalie Liya Shiberu won the Goalkeeper of the season award. Coach of the season went to Dedebit’s Firew H/Mariam. Mekelakeya won the fair play award; coincidently the Mekelakeya men team has also won the fair play award in the first tier league. International arbiter Lidiya Tafese and assistant referee Wegeayehu Zewede are referee and assistant referee of the season respectively.


Leave a Reply