Ethio-Electric Beat Kidus Giorgis for the AA City Cup Crown

Ethio-Electric crowned champions of the 11th Addis Ababa City Cup after beating title favorites Kidus Giorgis 2-0. A tactically superior Electric side have won the title for the second time after an eight years wait.

Electric started off the duel on a bright note as Ibrahim Fofanoh, Biruk Ayele and Didier Kavumbagu tested Kidus Giorgis goalie Zerihun Tadele in the first 15 minutes. Giorgis couldn’t survive the onslaught in the 28th minute when Ivorian forward Fofanoh struck from the edge of the box to hand Electric the lead. Kidus Giorgis custodian Zerihun was at fault for the goal.


After the recess the Horsemen enjoyed much of the possession as they push for a leveler. Electric were very strict on their defensive approach and they threatened to double their lead through counter attack. Kidus Giorgis’s hope of winning the title dwindled three minutes from time as a mistake from Zerihun gifted Fofanoh to the seal the win.

Ethiopia Nigd Bank pip visitor Adama Ketema 1-0 to take third place. A second half goal from Sisay Wajo was enough for the bankers to win the third place playoffs.


Ethio-Electric started off their City Cup campaign on the wrong foot as they were trounced 4-1 by Kidus Giorgis. Nonetheless, they went all the way to win the title. Ethio-Electric’s striker Ibrahim Fofanoh was adjudged with the Most Valuable Player award while team coach Birahnu Bayou took home the coach of the tournament. Kidus Giorgis’s Abubekher Sanni scooped the top goal scorer award after netting 5 goals.

Leave a Reply