Women’s Premier League: Dedebit Crowned Champions for the Third Time

Dedebit have been crowned champions of Ethiopian Women’s Premier League for the third time in six years. The all-conquering the Blues celebrated title win after their deserved 2-0 win over bitter rivals Ethiopia Nigd Bank in the final of the premier league.

Dedebit were the better side in the first interval the Bankers opted to play behind the ball leaving lone striker Rehima Zerga up front without any assistance from the midfielders, who got it very tough to retain possession. Dedebit broke the deadlock in the 24th minute through Nehemiya Abera when Nigd Bank custodian and Ethiopian international Dagmawit Mekonen failed to handle a Loza Abera’s corner kick. The Blues continued to dominate the proceedings while the Bankers failed to keep grounds for the rest minutes of the interval.

Nigd Bank coach Birhanu Gizaw substituted in Bezunesh Sisay for team captain Bizuhane Endale. The changes came in handy as the Bankers played more offensive but still failed to find the back of the net. Loza doubled the advantage 13 minutes before time as she slots home from close range to bag her 33 league goal, which made her the top goal queen for the third time running.

In the third place, Adama Ketema cruised past Hawassa Ketema 2-0 to finish the 2016/17 season third.



Leave a Reply