The Ethiopian National League got its conclusion today at the Dire Dawa Stadium, which hosted few games during the 10th African Cup of Nations. In the final game of the tournament Dire Dawa Kenema beat Hossana Kenema 3 goals to 1 to be crowned the 2014/15 National League champions.

Fikadu Worku opened the score for Dire Dawa. At the stroke of half time Hossana’s talisman Dula Mulatu equalized the score.In the second half DireDawa again took the lead through Negatu Dare’s own goal. The tourney’s MVP Endeshaw scored the 3rd to hand Dire Dawa the triumph. Champions DireDawa Kenema got 50,000 Birr as a prize money while Hossana and Halaba, who beat Jimma Aba Bunna on penalties for the 3rd place play off, collected 20,000 and 10,000 Birr respectively.


The award ceremony was largely dominated by the champions who took 3 awards home. Dire Dawa’s Yihunae Endeshaw won the MVP of the tourney. Yihunae’s teammate Belay Abayne took the top goal scorer award with 6 goals. Halaba’s brilliant goalie T/Mariam Shanko got the best goalkeeper award. Meanwhile, Dire Dawa’s head coach Mesert Manni selected as coach of the tournament. For their exceptional performance Arbiter Getu Teferra and assistant referee Asechalew Worku received accolades. Zeway based club Share Ethiopia, the team who picked up fewer yellow and red cards, was also rewarded.


Leave a Reply