Qatar 2022| Ethiopia land in a tough qualifiers group

የንባብ ቆይታ:1 ደቂቃ, 13 ሰከንድ

FIFA revealed the 10 groups for the second round of the African qualifying round for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar Yesterday, as the Walias found out they have a mountain to climb after landing in a group that will have them face South Africa and Ghana.

In the event held at the Nile Ritz-Carlton in Cairo, 40 African countries were placed in 10 pools where a top finishing side will advance to the two-legged final knock-out stage to determine the 5 nations to represent Africa in the 2022 FIFA world cup in Qatar.

Ethiopia, currently ranked 146th in the latest FIFA rankings, will face Ghana (47th), South Africa (71st) and Zimbabwe (111th) in “Group G” for a place in the third round. The Walias advanced to the second round of qualifiers after drawing with Lesotho home and away in the first hurdle in September, progressing via the away goals rule.

The qualifying round encounters are booked to start in March and run until October 2021.

Group A፡ Algeria, Burkina Faso, Niger, Djibouti

Group B፡ Tunisia, Zambia, Mauritania, Equatorial Guinea

Group C፡ Nigeria, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Republic, Liberia

Group D፡ Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Mozambique, Malawi

Group E፡ Mali, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda

Group F፡ Egypt, Gabon, Libya, Angola

Group G፡ Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia

Group H፡ Senegal, Congo-Brazzaville, Namibia, Togo

Group I፡ Morocco, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Sudan

Group J፡ Democratic Republic of Congo, Benin, Madagascar, Tanzania

©Soccer Ethiopia